eBay’s funny mail restrictions vs. the plus extension

Since eBay recently lost a complete database dumb, I thought let’s join the other 145 million guys and change me good old password. While doing that I wanted to update my mail address too. BTW, I recently changed to mailbox.org and I am very (very very) happy with it. Unfortunatley though eBay’s very (very very) secure e-mail address validation disallows having the eBay username as localpart (as in localpart@domain.com). Wow I thought, that is what I call secure by default! Funny side note, my old e-mail address also includes my eBay user name, but nobody complained about that some 10 years ago. Well then I thougth, let’s check support. After almost going nuts in their craptastic present-stupid-solutions-but-avoid-revealing-the-bloody-support-form manor, I went for the (free) hotline. So after a 28 minutes long patience test (which I obviously won), I was told by a very friendly lady that she isn’t allowed to change the mail address by hand. German data security laws, she said. Fuck that, I thought🙂 She also recommended not using this mail address😉 But that led me to suddenly remember that mailbox.org supports the plus-extensions (or whatever it’s called in the RFCs). So I ended up trying username+ebay@mailbox.org and it worked! So kudos to eBay for not disallowing plus signs in mail addresses (no sarcasm here, many services do). Even better, the next time they loose all their users data, spammers will only get the alias address and I can just block that. Nice!

Leave a Reply

